Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me by Ian Cron

Childhood experience and dysfunction colors how we believe God sees us and the road to where that misconception is corrected, is always a story I love to hear.  We can all relate to varying degrees, no childhood is perfect, no parent without flaw – this book is a remembrance of that journey to where God would have him.

Ian walks us through his childhood, shifting between present and past and tying it together with a sense of humor I can appreciate it. He doesn’t candy coat the pains of growing up in an alcoholic home.  He doesn’t excuse the continuing of that generational issue in his life, but honors me with a glimpse into the journey that broke the pattern.  Ending the book with a glimpse into a sweet moment with family in which he made different choices, and showed the influence a father has on his son.

Ian caught my attention with the title and a few pages in I knew I was going to appreciate the journey:

“Home is a place you grow up wanting to leave, and grow old wanting to get back to … Home is just not a place; it’s a knowing in the soul, a vague premonition of a far-off country that we know exists but haven’t yet seen.  Home is where we start, and whether we like it or not, our life is a race against time to come to terms with what it was or wasn’t.”

I enjoyed the thought that the author put into tying each quote to a particular memory or set of memories which gave me clear picture of the weight of that event in his life.

Because I am a person who appreciates packaging and how things are presented, I thoroughly enjoyed the graphic that was used as a break between stories.  This also did a fantastic job of weaving that first memory through the whole book.

I would give this book a 5 out of 5 buckeyes, I enjoyed this author’s voice and the journey he choose to share.  This book came at a time when I needed to hear it and be reminded of a journey I have taken in my life to wholeness, not perfection.  Just a little closer to how God wants me.

Find out more about the author on his blog:

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About A Misplaced Buckeye

Jesus Girl | Grad Student | Single Parent | Breadwinner | Yes my plate is full, I am so grateful for this time in my life! God is so GOOD. Jer 29:11

Posted on July 1, 2011, in BookSneeze and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

